it’s a quite old bug - some times the interactive render mode get lost. It should be fixed, but at Update 2 it’s still alive. The workaround was to set the render engine to “Rhino renderer” and than back to V-Ray. But I found now this cause that the VFB is reset, lens effects and frame buffer control setups are lost.
Could you please provide a step-by-step description(screenshots or a video will be highly appreciated) of how to replicate the issue?
Additionally, please specify what exactly do you mean by “ interactive render mode get lost”.
* render something or open the frame buffer and set a custom curve
* now switch the render engine to “Rhino render”
* now switch back to V-Ray → the frame buffer controls are reset
Hi, I’ve experience this same issue. The V-Ray Interactive Display Mode option will disappear. Only way to get it back for me is to close and reopen the file.
1. Option is not present, no issue reported in viewport.
* render something or open the frame buffer and set a custom curve
* now switch the render engine to “Rhino render”
* now switch back to V-Ray → the frame buffer controls are reset
This is not exactly a bug but still, there might be a way to improve this behavior.
I’ll talk to the developers and get back to you.
Hi, I’ve experience this same issue. The V-Ray Interactive Display Mode option will disappear. Only way to get it back for me is to close and reopen the file.
Which V-Ray version are you using.
If I remember correctly this issue was fixed and should no longer occur in the latest V-Ray 5.
Been happening for years and Still happens and its 2023. For whatever reason if you need to open a 2nd instance of rhino, or when editing blocks in place, the option to render in viewport disappears and the only way I’ve found so far is to just close everything and re-open. You can still interactive render using the vray window but I prefer using the rhino viewport, especially if I’m not using dual monitors.
I can reproduce it everytime and I’m using what I believe is the most current version (vray for rhino 7 version 6.00.21). Create a model in rhino and save it, now open an existing model and insert the new file as a new block (embedded and linked). now try to edit part in place, use the 1st option “launch another copy of rhino to edit linked file”. once it launches, save it out or simply exit which will bring you back to the file which has the block and your viewport option for vray disappears. I use rtx rendering and have a nvidia rtx A4000 card.
Thank you @ryan_howell for answering my questions.
I have checked with our developers and unfortunately the outcome is expected, because this is a Rhino limitation that we can not override.
The display mode is registered globally and is stored in the Rhino settings file. These settings are used for every instance of opened Rhino files.
Once any of the Rhino instances is closed, the V-Ray Interactive mode is not present in the instances that are left open. Instead of closing everything you can just open a new empty Rhino scene.
Yes if I open a new instance of rhino the vray viewport option is there, but this doesn’t help me avoid having to close my already opened file and re-open it. I was hoping there was a work around to get it to re-appear without having to do that.
@ryan_howell unfortunately there are no other ways for now. I have logged an improvement ticket VRW-4053 in our internal system. Developers shared that they will see what can be changed here.
Thanks for your feedback!
Here’s some good news.
Our developers implemented a Reset option in vrayVPRSettings to re-enable the V-Ray Interactive display mode.
Rhino keeps all registered display modes in a global settings file. Modifying the file from one instance, modifies all active instances. For example, if another Rhino instance is started, where the current render engine is set to Rhino, these settings are used for every instance of the opened Rhino files. That is why the V-Ray Interactive display mode disappears. It can be re-enabled easily using our new Reset option without closing the Rhino project.
The Reset option will be available in the next hotfix.