Hi, how do I set Image Options in the VFB? I can not find a way to get rid of that red message, telling me that Image Options are scene controlled. Guess it’s easy in the end, but I don’t know how.
This message informs the image options settings are basically setup from the rendered vrscene and not from a user configuration. It does not prevent you from changing them and then saving as you want, but those modified settings will not be written as part of the user configuration - that’s the reason for this red notice.
The user config will be used if loading from history or loading an image directly in the VFB.
Thank you for the explanation. But frankly I still don’ understand completely. The red notice appears not in every file I am using - what triggers it? If the notice is there, I am not able to set for example JPEG to quality 100 as default. If I change the value without red notice appearing the changed value stays as default value.
There is 2 type of overrides : scene override and user override.
- user override : simplest case, this is the default set by the user at a global level for the VFB. This is used if loading an image from disk into the VFB, or if loading an image from history. For example, I can set a default JPG quality to 75%.
- scene override : if you do a new render, this is a scene override - the rendered scene description may contain image writer plugins which are usually setup in the host itself. So that if you render a vrscene with the V-Ray Standalone, you will always get the image saved in the intended format/quality settings.
The settings are preloaded from the scene settings, but should definitely be editable afterwards. If you edit them, then it will only affect the current render session and will not be saved back as a user config nor will be backsaved into the scene overrides. That’s the reason for the red notice.
So again as an example, for this particular scene I want 100% quality on JPG, so rendering this scene will override the default user config I have previously set at 75% and instead use the scene settings. I can still modify this settings to do manual image saving with a different quality but modifying this option will not affect by global default of 75%.
I hope this clarifies things a bit now.
Clear now. Thank you!
After a some more experiments with this, I understood that my user defaults stay the way I want them to be as long as I don’t import assets from chaos cosmos. As soon as I import geometry from cosmos, the override text appears, changing my default settings. Would be great if this behaviour could be changed in some future release. Importing assets in a scene shouldn’t be the same as importing assets in a existing scene, which is already setup. Maybe be necessary that way, but for a fast workflow it’s not optimal.
