Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Switching careers advice (after 20 years in archviz) to movie magic?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Switching careers advice (after 20 years in archviz) to movie magic?

So hi guys,
    maybe it's a midlife crisis or just burnout but I really want to do something else. Like the title says I've been doing archviz in MAX/vray for 20 years now. Recently I've been to London and did the Harry Potter tour at Warner Bros and it triggered my college dream of being a movie special effects guy. Was wandering if anyone here had such an endeavor of changing careers, and has any advice for me? My knowledge of 3D is pretty specialized for archviz but I believe (if I'm not fooling myself) I would need a few months tops to change gear.

Gaming industry also comes to mind of course but I would need something certain since it took years to build my client base and it feels very risky to leave it all behind.

Thanks in advance
    www.hrvojedesign.com

Not all 3d is created equal. I had similar experience, I mostly work in film and television, but had a chance to work on motion graphics, animation of logos and such. Its still 3d, but I hated it, I couldn't do it, though it uses similar methods, the tricks and techniques are different, the timelines are different etc etc. I like the vfx industry in the way that is never boring and always a challenge. With that said though, its going to be completely opposite of what you are used to, I doubt it will be a few month, more like a few years before you fully transition. I would suggest to work in a good team like environment where you can learn from professionals, it will accelerate your transition.
    Dmitry Vinnik
    Silhouette Images Inc.
    ShowReel:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxSJlvSwAhA
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/dmitry-v...-identity-name

Comment

Hi Dmitry,