Learning Maya

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning Maya

I recently started learning Maya after using Max for nearly 20 years. I tried to approach it as open minded as possible. I red a lot about how you should not try to immitate workflows you are used from your previous Software. Well I ignored this and did exactly that . While I think Maya it not a very intuitive software to my surprise a lot of workflows I' m used to in Max could be pretty easily translated into Maya. The node Editor so far seems to be a major strenght of Maya. As I'm a big fan of node based stuff, learning the node editor was not that hard. The max equivalent would be the reactions editor wich is pretty useless.
    I have some further questions that maybe someone could answer. Especially people that also know Max.

People say Mayas strenght is animation. I' m not a character animator. But from time to time I' m using bones to animated stuff. I did not yet dive deep into bones and skinning stuff. I realized the Node editor is a powerfull tool to control complex animations similar to the Unreal Engine blueprints. Apart from that. Are there any other animation feature that one must know ?

What else is a real strength of Maya compared to Max. Some sort of killer feature one should not miss ?

Are renderlays still a thing when using Vray ?

When I right click into the Node Editor and select Create Node I only get a list with shader nodes. Is there some way to list all the possible Nodes ? It took my quite a while to figure out a simple "add" command is called a "float math" node.

Can anyone recommend good learning ressources? Must not be free. At the moment I'm using Pluralsight wich seems OK.

Thank You, any help is much appreciated.