Making Max more like Maya

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Max more like Maya

I have been doing Maya classes for about 6 months and there are some things I really like. I find that when I try to do character animation inside 3ds I miss them. I am sure there are ways to do the same things within Max but I just can't figure out how.

1. Freeze transforms : If you unfamiliar with Maya this re-sets all of an objects parameters to 0,0,0 for position and rotation (in World Space) and the scale to 1,1,1 This is essential for character work as when you get keys messed up and you have to reset all you need to do is go to 0,0,0 and your back to your set pose.
    2. Transformaton input - the channels box is really nice - a docked panel in Maya where you have direct axis to XYZ transform, Rotation and scale.
    The inputs in 3ds X,Y,Z in Max are hard to find and they only display one tranform at a time.
    3. Zoom control - The zoom control in 3ds is Ctrl + Alt +RMB in Maya it is Alt+RMB - as I go from one program to the other constantly this small difference is driving me mad. I have looked in the keyboard shortcuts but can't find where you change this setting in 3ds.
    4. Co-ordinate systems. I don't know about anybody else but the mutilple co-ordinate systems in 3ds confuse the hell out of me. I would be happy with just two systems World and Local - there are just too many sytems - I don't know of an easy way to calify which system the controller is using. Countless times I have animated an object using the screen Gizmo as a guide only to find that the track view XYZ is different. After 4 years this still gets me 80 % of the time.

These are small things that maybe with your combined experience you have learned to overcome or know of a script that will make my life easier.

Thanks as always

1) I'm not sure what you're asking for here? Rest X-form?