Towels for six4one - matl request

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Towels for six4one - matl request

I'm going to upload some towel models to six4one as an .obj file and would like to include a really good vray towel material with it... except I'm not very good at creating nice materials....

Does anybody have a nice fluffy displaced towel material they could donate?

Thanks,

Rob.

.:www.mcphersonyachtdesign.com:.

I did a towel a whilte back - just use displacement with a photoshop image of noise - blur it a little and it comes out nice and towelish - do the usual trick of having it fade to black at the edges and put some rectangular borders in so it has a pattern.

Comment

Thanks joconnell, I'll give that a try.

Comment

I've had success with just a peach-white diffuse color and a terrycloth displacement map (the map was found on these forums).

Something similar applied to these objects would probably look pretty nice.

Comment

Thanks for the heads up on that one Dynedain. The texture was posted by Natty - I've done some slight mods by running it through 'image synth' to get a tilable texture.

Here's my latest effort - I've stayed away from any boarders, didn't really want to get into the whole UV mapping thing.... but have separated the edges from the fluffy bit in the model.

Comment

Give vray fur a quick go too.

Comment

Looks very nice! Of course if you're going to make it an obj or standalone, i'd do the UVW unwrapping... painfull, I know, but in the kinds of scenes where you'd be dropping these in place, you'd want it to be easy and simple to use.

Comment