Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual Processor ?

Hi folks,

It's coming time for a new workstation.... I'm running on AMD X2 with 2Gb of ram and XP Pro..... so I have no experience of Dual Processors or 64 bit..... what's the experience out there.... ?

XP Pro32 bit or 64bit?
    1 Quad core or 2 lesser CPU's ?
    AMD or Intel?
    Presumably stay away from Vista?
    Which MoBo for dual CPU's?
    Open GL graphics card worth it?

Aiming for supper quiet.
    I don't play games so only concerned with AutoCad, MAX, Vray, PS etc

Thanks in advance.

My new machine is a Intel Core 2 Extreme (QX6700), 4gig RAM, and 8800GTX videocard. running xp64.. Very happy and satisfied with that setup

Comment

Thanks aphex,

Which motherboard is it on..... & how much money did it take

Comment

msi p965 platinum.. i don't remember the exact price, but as i am in Norway, the price is bit higher than other countries..

Comment

i ve just purchased an intel Q6600 4g of ram and an Ati 1950pro on an 975bx2 intel board and i luve it!
          Nuno de Castro

www.ene-digital.com
          nuno@ene-digital.com
          00351 917593145

Comment

Im looking at going quad soon. I hear they get awefully hot tho.
            I.e. Even with after market coolers, and a modest overclock they reach 70c under load.

I would however recommend the Asus P5B-E if you plan on overclocking, great little performance board right there

Comment

yeahh...as i m not having the time to overclock it...i ve decided to go stable...and i ve also learned to hate asus...
              Nuno de Castro

www.ene-digital.com
              nuno@ene-digital.com
              00351 917593145

Comment