newbie setting up some HW - xeons and fileserver

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie setting up some HW - xeons and fileserver

all suggestions and advices welcomed, I've never done it before...

I wanna setup 2 workservers dual xeons e5520 and one 1TB fileserver based on linux.
    In future its possible I will add 10-20 render nodes and few more workstations...

Workstation 2P Intel Xeon midi tower, i5520, 6xDDR3-1333

Price 1730 EUR incl 19% tax
    Procesor- Intel Xeon E5520 (Nehalem.2,26GHz@5,86GT 8MB cache,QuadC,HT,80W),box 2
    cooler- SNK-P0035PA4 AktivnĂ­ 4U cooler pro 1P/2P LGA775/1366 (19,5dBA,2050rpm,4pin) 1
    MoBo- X8DAL-i i5520,2S@QPT6.4,PCI-E16(g2)+E16(E4),-E4,2PCI,2GbE,6sATA,6DDR3-1333 1
    RAM- 2GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC with Thermal Sensor, CL9 - Kingston 6
    HDD- HD 500GB WD5002ABYS 7200RPM/8,7ms/16MB/SATA II Raid edition 1
    DVDRW + DVD-RW SONY-Nec AD-7200 20x DVD+/-, RAM, SATA black 1
    GPU- ASUS VGA ENGTX260/G/HTDP, 896MB DDR3,2*DVI,HDTV 1
    sound+ on board 1
    network- Intel 82574 dual 10/100TX/Gigabit on the mobo1
    Box- SC733TQ-665 miditower eATX quiet (25dB) 4sATA/SAS,2x5,25",665W(80+),black 1
    keyboard- A4tech KBS-26B5R + mouse1
    work ........ 1
    OS- winXP64, have not heard anything great about vistas and win7 are not available yet..

regarding to fileserver I just started research - no idea yet, need advices

would like to buy two 24" monitors as well, should be good but not expensive of course
    any hits?

thanks
    filip

Get lots of RAM. A dual Xeon has 16 threads. Each thread is going to claim a portion of RAM to work with and for memory-intensive scenes you'll run into problems if you don't have a good chunk of RAM to begin with. 32GB of RAM would be ideal. I have 24GB which works great in apps like max and VRay. I have one app though, which doesn't manage RAM very well and I actually have to disable most of my cores during rendering so it doesn't crash.
    Steve Burke