Rhino vs. Max

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rhino vs. Max

Pardon my newbish question as I don't use any other 3D programs. But I've been noticing more and more people modelling objects in Rhino recently and rendering with Vray. Does anyone have any particular reason to use Rhino instead of Max or is it mainly a matter of preferences? What are the real advantages? And if it is a better overall program, what's the self-taught time-wise learning curve from Max?

-juju
    LunarStudio Architectural Renderings
    HDRSource HDR & sIBL Libraries
    Lunarlog - LunarStudio and HDRSource Blog

rhino is nurbs modeler, the best of it, the only reason is that, I guess.

Comment

download it ..... its so easy to use once you get the hang of it. most of the comands derive from autocad, so it very easy to produce very highly modelled models. eg. product design ect etc... try it ...
      Natty
      http://www.rendertime.co.uk

Comment

i use rhino personally, in rhino, modelling is much more convenient, sometimes shapes that take very long time in max(spline modelling) to make is very easy for rhino...................the second best thing about rhino(nurbs) is that every mesh is goin to be super smooth(which probly equal to 10 iteration meshsmooth mod. ) ...that's why suurland's car appear to be so real..................

ps: smooth is not the word i am lookin for, but i cant find any other word better than it.....what i am tryin to say is that if one apply meshsmooth, the shape generally will deform, but if one done the mesh in rhino, the shape wont be deformed, but still very smooth...........

Comment

Thanks alot for all of your info. It's helpful to know that. So do you guys model in Rhino than import most of your models into Max as a prefered method?
          LunarStudio Architectural Renderings
          HDRSource HDR & sIBL Libraries
          Lunarlog - LunarStudio and HDRSource Blog

Comment