Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vray trace sets, maxscript help

hi,
    im trying to get the "vrayAddTraceSets <node>" command to work with maxscript. Im not very good at maxscripting.
    If some one knows how to script these below that will be a great help.

maxscript im after is:
    -1, select object (call it target object) and exclude all other objects in scene to reflect and refract in the target object.

-2, select objects in scene you want to reflect and refract in the "target object ", select the target object last. So script will know what the target object is,and to remove the other objects from the exclude trace reflection and refraction list.

Thank you

Hi daveyjones26,

Here is a script that might help, there are two functions vrayTraceSetsAdd() and vrayTraceSetsRemove() that operate on the current selection of objects, so they could be assigned to custom button or menuitem. In all cases the last object is considered target, so You should have at least one object selected. If only one object is selected the functions add/remove all other objects in the scene from the trace sets exclude lists.

Hope that helps.
    Best regards,
    Alexander
    Attached Files
    Alexander Kazandzhiev
    V-Ray for 3ds Max developer

Comment

Many thanks Alexander,
      Just having trouble using this script (im not to good at scripting).
      When i run this script it flags a error in max lister? how can i get the to work? buy cutting out the vrayTraceSetsAdd() and vrayTraceSetsRemove() and creating two scripts to lunch?

Would be possible the same idea to make this work with vray lights for exclusion?
      Thanks

Comment

Hi,
        Can you paste the output from the listener? It works fine here with V-Ray 3.0 and 3dsmax 9 and 2014.

Yes I think we can make another set of functions to work with the lights exclude lists.

Best regards,
        Alexander
        Alexander Kazandzhiev

Comment

hi Alexander,