Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• too long rendering times and AA selection

Hello!

I'm absolutely new on 3dmax, Vray and GI software. I’m a rookie and new in this forum.

This is my first test with Vray and I need a help with rendering times and AA, the purpose of the rendering is to make 600 frame animation.

My question is: is it normal 12 to 20 minutes for this render? I wish not. I expect maximum 6 or 7 minutes AA included.

area AA (click to enlarge)
    No AA (click to enlarge)

Relevant information is:

System information is:

OS version Windows* 2000 version 5.0 Service Pack 4 build 2195
    OS memory 1,047,220 KB RAM
    Processor Genuine Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 Processor
    Processor speed 2.00A GHz
    Bus speed 400 MHz
    Physical memory 1,024 MB RAM
    Memory speed DDR266
    Memory type DDR, Synchronous

Any help will be appreciated.

Best regards.

IMHO, I suggest the introduction of a new sub forum: quick support , where, of course, you may ask any question freely*. I have found so many information everywhere (glass/Search found 965 matches*) I'm really confused on what start with. Sometimes that research is overwhelming and your own trial and error is a direct shot in the foot, or a plain waste of time, Vray software controls are a “little” bit dense! and many answers I have found through the forum and online manuals one really need to have a thorough knowledge of Vray to understand and apply.

* Understandably many Vray vets complain of people asking basic stuff.

The first thing to do is to read the online help files, they explain every setting pretty well and with lots of examples.

You can't expect to learn a max/vray in a few hours.

Since every settings matters, you need to have a basic knowledge first of all these settings. Again, the online manual is great for that (even if you don't understand it all, just keep on reading so you read about every settings once and know what is possible).