Question to V-Ray

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question to V-Ray

Hi ! Im new to V-Ray and am getting along bit by bit. I have read the help and the set up tutorial, and rendered an Image which Ihad rendered before with mental ray.

The set Up which I have used is:
    - Adaptive DMC as sampler,
    - AA filter is Area (1.5).
    - Color Mapping is intensity exponential
    - Gamma 2.2
    - Dont Affect colors
    -Linear Workflow on
    - Primary bounce is Irradiance map (set to High)
    - second bounce is Light Cache
    - I rendered it out as an EXR
    - I changed the EXR in Photoshop to a JPG without changing the gamma or exposure

Here is the result:

http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/5...ghtingvray.jpg

Here is what I run into:

1. The indirect illumination ist still way too dark. How do I get it brighter? If I increase the light's intensity, it will just create blown out areas.
    Do I need to fix some thing is Photoshop or is there a renderoption?

2. As you can see, the shadow and reflective areas are all very grainy. I thought it was the shadow rays of the directional light I'm using, but increasing them or the Ray depth limit doesnt change much at all. Is there a render setting that I need to change?

3. The Shelves on the wall are kind of weird. It looks like AA issue, but where di I change it?

I hope someone can help me here!
    Last edited by gnassbasti; 18-06-2010, 01:48 AM.

This is what I'd try. Just for the sake of tyring. It might be contrary to some theories since I'm not an expert, but it might work.

*Format: png 16 bit.
    *AA: DMC 2/5 threshold .01
    *color mapping: Exponential.
    *uncheck Dont affect colors.
    *Linear Workflow off
    *gamma 1

environment Gi black

GI:

refractive causticss on

*primary IM
    *secondary LC

multiplier of both 1.

and I'd start playing with some rect light in the windows.