Spectral path tracing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spectral path tracing

I've started playing with the BDPtracer in vray and it's opened up a whole new world of info about unbiased renderers and some of the techniques they use. One thing that I've always been curious about is the spectral sampling some rendering engines use. I'm a real noob to this area of rendering so please excuse me if this has already been discussed a lot. From what I understand using spectral sampling instead of RGB for samples can lead to more realism in renderings and that certain phenomena just aren't possible to simulate without it (like iridescence and thin films).

What I'm wondering is if there is a way to use or enable spectral sampling in Vray or if it will be used in the future? What are the main advantages of Spectral sampling - would it really make a difference in the look of architectural renderings to use it (even if it is subtle)? Also does using spectral vs RGB sampling necessarily mean longer render times? I would assume yes since instead of sampling at 3 color wavelengths (RGB) you need to sample at many more wavelengths and it seems like for certain materials there are spikes in the absorption and IOR at certain light wavelengths and those spikes would likely need extra samples.

Originally posted by Rob Burns View Post
    What are the main advantages of Spectral sampling - would it really make a difference in the look of architectural renderings to use it (even if it is subtle)?
    No difference whatsoever, unless you have dispersion effects.

Also does using spectral vs RGB sampling necessarily mean longer render times?