Linear Workflow: Vray to Photoshop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linear Workflow: Vray to Photoshop

Firstly, I feel the need to apologies...I just hope this thread doesn't irritate anyone.

I'm using a Linear Workflow as this is best practice, its all fine but I have never ever gotten Adobe Photoshop to view my renders from 3DS MAX and VRay properly.

Frankly, Photoshop makes my renders look like a pile of shit....and that really does frustrate me....it has for many years.

I am uncomfortable to link people to my blog but I chose to centralize my problem there. If its not against courtesy and if I may indulge you, I would like to offer a link to my Blog post here:

Link

I feel like I am about to make a Demo-Reel I can be proud of this year and I don't want a silly problem like this to hold me back. I am posting on Vray forums for help although it could be a Photoshop problem. Please Help Me...I have been studying for so many years to get the basics right. I just need some one to show me.

I purchased a Licencee of VRay, so im not a Pirate person asking for help.

Thanks so much if you can do it. I just hope I am communicating clearly what the problem is. Its so hard doing this by myself.
    Last edited by stevejjd; 03-06-2015, 12:00 AM.

I opened the exr in my version of Photoshop here with the settings you described. Everything looks correct to me. Mind you that PS has huge problems correctly displaying gradients in 32bit mode. These artifacts always disappear after conversion to 8bit.
    https://www.behance.net/Oliver_Kossatz

Comment

It looks good for me in Photoshop too (identical to Nuke). Im not getting the banding issue you have in your image. And thats while its still in 32bit mode in photoshop.
      Im using CS5 however, so im not sure if some problems have been introduced in later PS versions
      CG Artist - RnD and CG Supervision at Industriromantik

Comment