Looking for Suggestions for Liquids..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for Suggestions for Liquids..

Howdy, Have a few interesting water related projects that would be much more interesting if we take them to the next level!

Main question, How is Liquid simulation generally done?

As of now, I only see a few options.. I'm hoping you folks can point me in the right direction if there are others

A: Particles.. Normal max particles have the oh so fun metaparticles.. Essentially blobs of goo bouncing around.. Can work for some simple scenes, but look is seeming to be a bit off (Probably just me, I'm a newb at this kinda thing) and its not very fast.. Haven't quite hit the limit on how much is a feasable maximum amount of particles, But i can tell already that its probably going to be hit long before we end up finishing the waterwheel/steam turbine.. insane setup time with the deflectors and a lot of layering/compositing/blurring to get it to look anything decent..

B: Plugins.. I've taken a look at realflow.. And while it looks interesting as a simulation package, it appears to be *extremely* crashable.. Has anyone got any experience of actually using it in a realistic (in terms of detail) scene? The demo wasn't particularly impressive..

C: Afterburn? Volumetric.. looks interesting, dont know anything about it.. Can water sims be done with this?

D: Aura? Any word on when/what? Hopefully will see some nice stuff at siggraph!!

E: Material fakes on reactor softbodys.. A shot in the dark.. Looks like it *could* be possible.. but also looks like it'll be a bit painful to figure out..

F: Your Solution Here..

Not looking for trade secrets here, just trying to get some ideas as to what it is i should be looking at in terms of software/procedure...
    Dave Buchhofer. // Vsaiwrk