Rendering Samples

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rendering Samples

Hello, I am new to Vantage but not new to V Ray. I am trying to find a good setting to render an animation, the typical Quality VS Speed, and on the help docs, they mention Samples, but it doesn't explain what type of sample. Are these samples the same as Lightcache samples??
    Like V Ray calculating 1000 samples at the beginning of the animation, and then each frame uses those? or are those samples that the Antialiasing will try to achieve depending on the noise threshold?
    I have tested an interior with 800 samples Vs 30, and I didn't notice a major or any difference really; the time per frame was especially faster with 30 frames of course.
    Anybody that can explain this or point me where I can read about it?
    I am old schooler, so I am OK getting nerdy about V Ray settings.
    Thank you.

I think the denoiser is doing most of the heavy lifting. I have been setting my interiors to ultra and my exteriors to high. I think that takes care of the settings. If you manually change a setting you go into custom.
    Bobby Parker
    www.bobby-parker.com
    e-mail: info@bobby-parker.com
    phone: 2188206812

My current hardware setup:
    • Ryzen 9 5900x CPU
    • 128gb Vengeance RGB Pro RAM
    • NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090
    • ​Windows 11 Pro

Comment

I've learnt that the higher samples are needed for animating things such as objects with non glossy reflections. Otherwise you'll see flickering.

Bobby is right though, the denoiser does a fantastic job. Just look at your renders with the denoiser turned off, and you'll see the difference between 30 and 800 samples.
      Dean Punchard > Head of CGI at HUB

Comment

Thanks for the input. Yes, I understand that the Denoiser is the king in this software. I was wondering because sometimes I need lots of frames as fast as possible. So to me knowing what to adjust to get the most out of my video card would be great.