Can Chaos Vantage implement this?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can Chaos Vantage implement this?

I have zero knowledge of programming so sorry in advance if I am been naive but I wonder if Chaos Vantage can have a behavior similar to programs that use a mix of ray tracing and rasterization?

Many of us are never going to use Vantage to replace Vray in some key areas like still image production and 360 panoramas but I feel the animation side is not what some or many of us would like it to be.

I find disappointing the fireflies on reflective surfaces on Vantage animations. And to minimize it we need to up resolution to 4k minimum and increase the samples, which in turn increase animation time.

I have tested D5render on my RTX 3090 and it is much cleaner and quicker, though slightly less quality, granted.

This example on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrHm0x_zqwI blew me away and I wonder if Chaos Vantage could implement a second clean and super fast rendering option for the many of us that need it.

I personally wish we could have both options, pure raytracing for when time is not a pressing issue, and a mix of ray tracing/rasterization for when time is premium and the utmost quality is not required. Maybe that is not possible. Could you kindly clarify? Thanks.

that use a mix of ray tracing and rasterization?
    The fireflies issue is not strictly related to whether rasterization or raytracing is used.
    It has more to do with how GI, glossy reflections and area lights are sampled.
    Game engines use approximations that ignore the correct area shadowing and approximate the BRDF/light interaction, but don't have noise.
    From what I understand, these don't work very well when you have many lights.

In any case, we will be exploring various ways to improve the sampling in future versions.
    But I cant give you a time-frame or exactly what we will end up implementing and including as an option/default.