Liquid Life Span

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liquid Life Span

I'm currently in the process of faking a small waterfall effect. I'm also still new to Phoenix and trying to learn as and when it's required. Is there a simple way of controlling the life span of liquid? For example in the screenshot, I want the "jet" to continually emit liquid, but I want to be able to control when the bits in red die off. At the minute the bits in red will just keep moving around until I stop the simulation, but I want them to ultimately fade out naturally and die. How do I do this? I just want to some small localized splashes and foam and mist where the jet of water meets the surface below it. In an ideal world and if I had the time/patience, the solid surface below would also be water and part of the simulation.
    Attached Files
    DAVE BUCKLEY

www.daveandco.co.uk

Hey,

You can create a Particle Tuner node and use the age of the Liquid particles as a condition to delete them.

Here is a video that shows how this works - https://docs.chaos.com/display/PHX4M...eParticleTuner

In the video we show how to delete particles that are moving fast and are older than 0.5s, but in your case you can use only the age condition.

You can find more about the Particle Tuner here - https://docs.chaos.com/display/PHX4MAX/Particle+Tuner

Hope this helps!
    Georgi Zhekov
    Phoenix Product Manager
    Chaos

Comment

Perfet, exactly what I was after, thanks Georgi
      DAVE BUCKLEY

www.daveandco.co.uk

Comment

Having a couple more issues with this, I'm trying to get subtle splashes/mist/foam just at the point of impact where the falling liquid meets the stationary water surface.

I'm finding a few things - I can't control the size of the splash/mist particles and currently they look way too big.

I don't know how to have the splash/mist only happen at the point of impact.