Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

.aur files - 60gb for 220 frames...is that normal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• .aur files - 60gb for 220 frames...is that normal?

I am new to Phoenix. I am slowly working my way through the tutorials.

I have been trying to create smoke in a scene (appearing randomly in the center of the scene). I simply made a small box emitter and then clicked on the "Setup a large-scale smoke sim..." button and let it go. After a couple few hours I had 140 frames. I stopped it and then clicked on restore. All 65 GB of memory were being used, plus disk drives and it slowed to a crawl. After another few hours of calculating, I had 220 frames and stopped the calculations. I looked at my cache folder and saw that it was 60GB worth of .aur files for the 220 frames. Is that normal?
    Last edited by brit_bunkley; 15-12-2023, 02:10 PM.

Hello,

The cache file size depends on its contents - the higher the grid resolution the more data there will be and the caches will be larger. Depending on the data, you can have a situation where a cache frame is between a few MB and a few GB.
    Your case seems normal.

If the disk space is a problem - you can try changing the storage quality value. You can find more about it here - https://docs.chaos.com/display/PHX4MAX/FireSmoke+Output
    Note that if the caches are too compressed some artifacts may start to appear.
    Georgi Zhekov
    Phoenix Product Manager
    Chaos

Comment

My last 20 cache frames were over 1.5 GB each I can handle a few of these folders. Then I need to render and delete. The last one for just 250 frames was 125GB!