Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small boat simulation - Long Ripple life on calm water

Hi,
    I'm pretty new to Pheonix but I've hit a brick wall in trying to simulate a particular scene, I hope someone can help. We are trying to emulate a long wake with nice patterns like you would see on a very still early morning lake where that water surface has almost mirror like / still condition. The ripples from even slow moving boats or canoes fan out quite gently for a long time. When we run the simulation the waves seem to fade away too quickly for the effect we are trying to achieve. Can anyone point me in the right direction of what I am doing wrong?
    Many Thanks in advance
    Daniel

Hey,

The jet boat is definitely moving too fast compared to your simulation, so it creates much stronger, taller waves that last longer.

The duck has a different shape than your boat so it pushes more liquid to the side, so its wake is also different.

So either make your vessel faster, or if you can't alter the speed of your boat, but you still want to get such a wave, then increase the Motion Velocity multiplier in the right click properties of the vessel geometry. Looks like you need to boost it seriously in order to get this kind of result - 5-10 times maybe.

Ah, also - how deep is your simulator? Is it very shallow or does it cover the vessel completely?

Cheers!
    Svetlin Nikolov, Ex Lead Phoenix developer

Comment

Hi Svetlin,
      Thank you so much for taking the time to help!
      I've noted what you have said about the shape and speed and I will try the Motion velocity multiplier now. I have attached a side view of the depth of the simulator (it's not the actual boat we are using but it basically the same shape just low poly.
      Thanks again
      Dan
      Last edited by daniel_fisher; 19-12-2020, 12:00 PM.

Comment

Sorry, the simulator depth is more like this.

Comment