Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Blocky artifacts when rendering sims in Volume Grid, lit from the inside.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blocky artifacts when rendering sims in Volume Grid, lit from the inside.

I'm working on a shot with thunderclouds that need to be lit from the inside. However, I'm getting these weird rectangular blocky artifacts.
    The volumes are VDB files, lit from within with very strong V-Ray lights. I'm just getting started with the shot and will start troubleshooting this, but just thought I'd ask here if anyone has come across this before.
    Torgeir Holm | www.netronfilm.com

Hey, are you using V-Ray 5 update 1 by any chance? It has a known issue that looks like this.
    Svetlin Nikolov, Ex Lead Phoenix developer

Comment

Yes, I'm using V-Ray 5 update 1. Do you know if a fix is far away? I can work around this for a little while.

Comment

Yess, try the latest stable nightly here: https://nightlies.chaosgroup.com/mai...e_5.1/20210317

Please ping me if the issue still persists - it looks very much like the one which is fixed in the stable nightlies, but if this nightly does not help, we have to investigate...

Cheers!

Comment

Thanks, I'll give it a try and let you know.

Comment

Unfortunately, I still get the artifacts with build 30661. I can send a simplified file if you need it.

Comment

Ahh, yes, please! A volume grid, the lights and one cache should do it...

Comment

Here's a download link. Max 2021 file with just the camera, lights, and grid+cache. See result of frame 32 attached.
                https://we.tl/t-ThuTJbFaso

Comment

Hey, thanks, we got the scene! Will ping you when we know more...

Comment

Thanks a lot for the scene - we have reproduced in our side as well.

There are a few workarounds you can use until we fix the problem.

1.Change the adaptive lights option in the V-Ray Global switches Advanced tab - if you set it to Full lights it should work correctly