Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Imroved horizon mesh/subdivs for Ocean Mode.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Imroved horizon mesh/subdivs for Ocean Mode.

I have been using Phoenix FD for many years, mostly for simulating oceans since one of my clients is a boat manufacturer. There is one thing I have struggled with, and I hope there could be some improvement in a future update.

When rendering Phoenix FD ocean with a VrayDisplacementMod on a simple plane (100x100 segments) the horizon looks great and very detailed with the default settings, and it calculates meshes fast without using too much memory. I use edge length 4 px for 1080, but for higher resolutions I increase edge length to conserve memory.

But when rendering Ocean with a simulation in Ocean Mode the horizon does not look as good in comparison. The ocean subdivs settings can improve things, I have tried to go as high as 6 subdivs, but it still does not look as good. If I go to 7 I run out of memory with 64GB and calculation of the mesh freezes. This is when rendering in Full HD 1920x1080. Also if I try to render images at higher resolutions for stills, I have to lower Ocean Subdivisions usually to around 1, and it looks quite bad.

I have rendered out some samples at different subdivisions to compare the results.
    I was hoping the devs could figure out a way to solve the horizon subdivision mesh in a better way since a plane gives much better results compared to the ocean mesh generated by the phoenix FD simulation.

1. VrayDisplacementMod on a simple plane (100x100 segments). This looks best IMO.
    2. Simulation in OceanMode Subdivisions = 4 Horizon roughness = 1
    3. Simulation in OceanMode Subdivisions = 5 Horizon roughness = 1
    4. Simulation in OceanMode Subdivisions = 6 Horizon roughness = 1
    5. Simulation in OceanMode Subdivisions = 5 Horizon roughness = 0
    Last edited by markus_s_cg; 03-11-2021, 09:03 AM.

Hey,