Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to explore/edit a vr scene with nested procedurals ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to explore/edit a vr scene with nested procedurals ?

Hi guys. I'm pretty new to the SDK, sorry in advance if this has been discussed already.
    Using python, I am looking at loading a main vrscene containing instances of VRayScene's, where each included scene can contain other scenes and so on. The main and the included scenes contain BitmapBuffer nodes, of which I am interested in getting the filenames and possibly change them before rendering.
    So, ideally, upon a scene load, I'd like to have a flattened representation of the entire scene, over which I could iterate all the bitmaps.
    All the VRayScene's have the preload_assets flag enabled, however I can't get the desired behaviour. After loading the main scene, only the bitmaps in the main scene itself get discovered by my script:

Code:
    with vray.VRayRenderer() as renderer:
      renderer.renderMode = 'production'
      renderer.load(os.path.join(SCENE_PATH, 'main_scene.vrscene'))
      instances = renderer.classes.BitmapBuffer.getInstances()
      # instances will not include the bitmaps in the included vrscenes
    Is there a way to work around this behaviour ?

Thankyou.
    Stefano Jannuzzo

Hi Stefano,

Unfortunately, no, you cannot currently do that. VRayScene is treated as just a regular plugin by the plugin manipulation functions. May I suggest alternatives solutions? You can append vrscenes directly without going through VRayScene. There is also .appendFiltered() function which accepts a callback which allows you to reject some plugins and rename others if needed (it has its own weirdnesses but we'll talk about them later if needed).