How to light this scene?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to light this scene?

I am fairly new at lighting, and suddenly I am tasked with lighting what I consider difficult scenes. I write this post in the hope that someone can provide me with some general guidelines

The picture shows a scene I am trying to light; the drillfloor of an offshore drilling rig. It´s supposed to be a combination of natural outdoor light and floodlights. I dont have a particular reference, its only supposed to look good in one way or the other.
    Don´t mind the current lighting and materials - its all preliminary.

The problem is that the floor is tightly packed with machines. This makes light placement very difficult. Other objects gets over-exposed lighting when I try to get good lighting on a hero object with some variant of three-point lighting. I use Vray Exposure and Vray Physical Camera with default settings, except a completey neutral tint.

I adjust the brightness with the intensity multiplier of each light. Is it possible to get higher brightness and lower over-exposure by adjusting ISO, F-stop and shutter speed instead? What are the practical differences of the three dials in my situation? Will they affect brightness and over-exposure differently? (I understand that they give different results in motion blur and depth of field)

Are there any tutorials, either paid or free, that can teach me how to light complex scenes like this? All I find lights normal interiors with daylight through a window and\or a couple of lamps. Or a few objects outdoors. The mix of interior and exterior lighting and a ton of tightly packed objects in this scene makes every attempt I do look terrible, and I am at a loss on how to approach this. The only good thing is that I can light it in any way I see fit ... I hope some of you can help putting me on the right path on how to approach this scene