Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So I still am still unsure of the BEST workflow....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I still am still unsure of the BEST workflow....

So I still am still unsure of the BEST workflow....
    I have been using VRay since 2007 and I still don't really seem to feel confident that I know what the best work flow is.
    when it comes to final renderings and trying to produce a clean, noise free image, that is the most confusing area . BUCKET or PROGRESSIVE?
    it seems that I have been getting decent results when using the bucket option, with all settings at there defaults except noise threshold and LC.
    no here is where the confusion sets in...
    last night I was submitting some stills to the Rebus farm with these settings and I get the warning message that I should switch to Progressive and my Image Sampler is set high (I think that is the warning)
    So I would like to switch to progressive if that is going to give me better, quicker results, but I am not sure what the correct settings are
    my confusion starts with the render time, how do I know how long to set this for, to get a clean image? or do I set the time to 0 which is not limited to time, so what controls the amount of time or passes so the Rebus farm knows when to stop and doesn't bankrupt me
    Sorry if these are stupid questions but it really is confusion to me

Someone please help...
    Last edited by ntavian; 09-01-2019, 08:15 AM.

Yeah, I wouldn't really trust what Rebus says about using progressive instead of buckets (especially from a company that benefits from longer renderings), but that's my two cents

Progressive is generally slower than a well-set-up bucket rendering.

Also when timelimit is set to 0. Rendering stops when it has reached the noise threshold you determine.
    Last edited by Vizioen; 09-01-2019, 02:21 AM.
    A.

---------------------
    www.digitaltwins.be

Comment