Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Renderfarm with Intel & AMD's

Let me ask a "stoopid" question here.

I heard form a FR "freind" that when building a renderfarm you have to go with all Intels or all AMD's. If not the two processors render scenes/buckets slightly differently. Is that an issue with Vray?

right now my office has all Intels, but I wanted to mix in some AMD's.
    Bret

Theoretically (and it happened moreso in the past than with recent generations of chips) because of differing floating point operations and random number generators, you could have differences in procedural textures that involved random generation.

However, I have never ever seen it, and I've been running a mixed farm for several years now.

Comment

I have a mix in my farm, and there is no problem that I can see.

Tony

Comment

That's good to know, thanks for the quick response.
        After following Percy's thread on benchmarking, its tempting to look into the X2's, I just don't know if I have the time or patience to figure out the overclocking.
        Bret

Comment

since I only did some real simple overclocking, it really wasn't too bad. I used a utility that came with my motherboard to determine what cpu multiplier was stable, then just rebooted into BIOS and made the changes. easy as pie!

"Sometimes life leaves a hundred dollar bill on your dresser, and you don't realize until later that it's because it fu**ed you."

Comment

do it you wont be disappointed!!

Comment

percy, what was that overclocking app you used?
              Chris Jackson
              Shiftmedia
              www.shiftmedia.sydney

Comment

its called uGURU i think...came with my Abit mobo.... which is cool so its specifically designed for my mobo...

"Sometimes life leaves a hundred dollar bill on your dresser, and you don't realize until later that it's because it fu**ed you."

Comment

X2! X2!

Can't beat it for the money.
                  No probs here.