GI flickering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GI flickering

I'm new to VRay so please forgive the basic question. I have made an animation that uses GI. The GI on the buildings could be seen to filcker as the camera moved past the buildings. I used the Irradiance map preset of "very low" for the animation to cut the animation time and set it for a single prepass. This got images to render at 110 seconds per frame. Total animation takes 24 hours. I could do test after test to see what settings would get rid of the flicker and give me fast times but before i do that i thought i would ask more experienced users for some insight as to how to best achieve this.
    I'm using Irradience map primary and photon map secondary.
    Thanks,
    mh

Hi Mike,

Have you read the tutorial for walkthrough animations on the help website?
    http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/VRay...ials_imap2.htm

It explains the basic work flow for producing a walkthrough from saved lighting calculations. The process is a bit more complicated than the method you have used but the results will be far better. Basically if the camera is the only object in your scene that moves then you can precalculate the lighting (GI) for the whole walkthough.

Oh and don't use any materials with interpolated glossies as these flicker as well in an animation.

Dan
    Dan Brew

Comment

Heya mike,

if you're doing an architectural flythrough where the camera moves and the scene doesnt, you are best off using precalculated maps which won't flicker at all. Read this tutorial to get you going: http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/VRay...ials_imap2.htm