Is Vray better?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Vray better?

That question is geared more for arch-viz, but I need to know. I work for a major architectural firm in the US with over 1400 employees. We use Revit and cannot render in "mental ray lite" so we export to max and use mental ray. I have been using vray now for 3 years and the firm has 15 licenses at their disposal. I have a meeting with the principals to explain why I believe vray is faster and more efficient for our rendering need. I am not asking them to buy more seats, they just want us to stop using it and switch to mental ray. I do not believe that should be done, unless revit ever adopts a stronger mental ray package. Is there anything that I can techincally explain to them of why this could be the case? I have done tests with similar settings, materials, and lighting and have always found vray to come out on top with speed by as much as 4x. Am I wrong to assume that? Our viz lab is comprised of mostly animators and they only use MR. They told me vray is alot slower, but when I looked a few months ago, they had the 1.47 version, or the one that had the slow material editor and transforming vertices problem. Now we have 1.5 and they are trying to get rid of it because they do not use it. If anyone can shed some light on this so I can defend my Vray case, I would appreciate it greatly.

thanks, brian