Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Chaos Group, Is a cloud system difficult to program?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chaos Group, Is a cloud system difficult to program?

I've been using Vray for about 5 years and Max for about 10, and I've yet to find a simple cloud solution in both packages.

Now I know about VRayEnvironmentFog, and yes you can create volumetric clouds with it, it's still a tedious process and can be quite complicated to get realistic results by balancing your texture maps and fog settings exactly right. It feels more of a complex work around.

Of course there are HDRIs and Environment Maps that I can slap on a Sphere or the background, but that's not great if you want to animate your clouds or risk tiling. It can also look quiet fake.

A simple cloud system Im looking for is similar to Vue's clouds or Maya's Visor. Where in Maya you can draw a spline and a preselected cloud type like cumulus would appear and render as a fully animated, volumetric, and good looking cloud in no time. Vue, just as fast and easy. Is something like this complex to create for max? A system that is programmed to create "clouds"? I would have thought by now a great functioning cloud system would have been created for VRay or Max's Mental Ray. But i've yet to see it. Is it not available because it's difficult to program?

Vue and DreamScape both works fine with V-Ray too...

Best regards,
    Vlado
    I only act like I know everything, Rogers.

Comment

Yes, but that doesn't answer my question. Besides, I've had quiet a few bug issues when using Vue inside Max. Im just curious as to why it hasn't become available as a Max or VRay option.

Comment