Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows 7 64bit on the Mac?

Does it work ok?

And will it help with rendertime etc very much?

Currently working a Intel Duel Quad? so 8 core 2.79GHz Mac with Bootcamp and Window XP 32bit. I get crashing sometimes when rendering test frames on the machine, and just recently while network rendering also, which I think is down to memory usage. So I'm just wondering if the move to 7 would help, but I'm a noob when it comes to operating systems. Any advice very welcome
    PGDesigns.co.uk

I have a Mac Pro and run Windows 7x64 in boot camp. Have not had any problems. The crashing is probably due to memory problems from the x32 ram limitation. I have 10gb ram in my computer.

Comment

Thats just what I wanted to hear

Anyone else running this set up successfully?
      PGDesigns.co.uk

Comment

yeah, at home I have a Mac Pro with Win7x64 as a boot camp. Works flawlessly
        http://www.glass-canvas.co.uk

Comment

NEVER BUY A MACPRO please!
          I have a macpro with windows 7 and everything run smoothly except in my wallet. I explain: I bought two computers just to compare. They have the exact same settings: Nehalem xeon dual quad cpu 2.26ghz, 12 GB of ram, win 7 x64. One is a macpro that cost me 5000$ and the other is a custom build by myself with parts from Newegg that cost me only around 2500$ (now still around 2400). Believe it or not even if they have the same spec my custom built computer is faster at rendering. not a lot but consistently faster. so for the same price you could build two computers which will be more than 2 times faster!

Also I got awful experience with their customer service. I got bad ram and they did not want to change it. They wanted me to bring the whole computer and they were saying my problem must be due to windows, when I knew it was the ram (I tested it and it was failing).

Explosion & smoke I did with PhoenixFD
          Little Antman