Rendering flat stainless steel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rendering flat stainless steel

I wanted to ask if anyone has ever developed methods for rendering FLAT stainless steel?

I've been doing product renders for several years for a client. They manufacture stainless steel kitchen equipment, and I inherited alot of assets from someone they used to have on staff, and it was all in Mental Ray. I continued to develop the MR renders to a higher quality level, but I've recently decided to switch to Vray because I know I can develop them much further. I've been using Vray off and on since the 1.47.xx days and recently upgraded from 2.4 to 3. I have a test scene that has a vray dome light with an HDRI of a studio lighting setup. The spheres on the left have the exact same materials as the table on the right. As you can see the flat surfaces on the table just don't read like the curved surfaces of the spheres. I struggled alot with this in Mental Ray as well, and wanted to see if anyone else had encountered this and/or developed a solution?

Thanks very much in advance.

Click image for larger version

Name:	vraytest.RGB_color.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	334.2 KB
ID:	879568

You might benefit from introducing some variation into those flat surfaces to break up the uniformity of the reflection.
    Nothing too extreme but you could use a subtle bump map or adjust the geometry itself with a noise modifier.

A subtle variation in your reflection/reflection glossiness in the material itself (something like a grunge map with fingerprints/scratches) would also help to break that blandness.

Comment

Your stainless steel looks a bit flat because there are no interesting reflections, and also there are no diffuse element that I can see in the material.