Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible to run vray license server / dongle on raspberry pi?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible to run vray license server / dongle on raspberry pi?

Hi everybody,

this is my first post on this board, please bear with me

Just recently I purchased vray for 3dsmax and I am enjoying it very much. I'm using vray at work, but because I wanted to use it for some private projects as well, I took the dongle with me when I left the office each day. However I'm afraid I'll lose or break the dongle soon this way - thats what has happened to most of my thumb drives...

So I'd very much like to make use of the authorization route over the internet. Because I do not want to leave my workstation on 24/7, I was thinking about setting up a raspberry pi (with linux) as a server for this purpose. It is cheap and uses only minimal power. I have no experience with the raspberry pi but was always waiting for an excuse to buy one. But before I do so, can anyone tell me if this would work at all?

Thank you very much for your insights!!

best,
    Sedlor

We don't have a version of the license server for raspberry pi. However you can set up a cheap box with CentOS/Fedora/Ubuntu - we do have a Linux version of the license server that works on those OSes.

Best regards,
    Vlado
    I only act like I know everything, Rogers.

Comment

Hi Vlado,

thank you for your response! I didn't take into consideration that, while capable of running linux, the raspberry has a different architecture. Maybe I'll built another small server like you suggested, but for now I'll just leave the dongle at my workstation and wake it up via wake on lan when I need it.