Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fly-through and DE

Hi,
    I have to do some animation (certainly mainly fly through)and I was thinking about technical details.
    I'm a newbie (I do only stills, not animation !) and I don't know if I'm right or not :
    Is there advantage to pre calc' my IR every 5,10 or 20th frame without DE and then, use it when I will render ?
    If not, is there anything to know about using DE during ma pre calc' ?

Thanks in advance
    (Sorry for my bad english)

What do you mean by DE?
    Here you can find a tutorial on how to render walk through animations with V-Ray: http://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/V...ugh+Animation#
    Generally the advantage of pre-calculating the GI maps comes from the fact that you don't have to calculate the light map of every frame.
    Zdravko Keremidchiev | chaos.com
    Chaos Support Representative | contact us

Comment

DE =detail enhancement.

for me its not a very useful feature. ive tried loads of times, but i can always see the boundary between the DE and the imap. also i never get it looking very clean with a reasonable rendertime.

wrt using it for flythroughs, i wouldnt bother.

use good old imap. use oversized settings (min rate of -5 or -4, max rate of 0, or even +1 for example, very high hsphs subdivs and a lower interp.samples than default.)

this way you will get a really sharp, but massive sized, and slow to calculate imap, but fast rendering frmaes with no gi calcs to worry about.

beauty of doing "multiframe incremental" for flythroughs is that as you note, you only need to calculate every 10-25th frame for the lighting calc, plus, any areas already covered in previous frames will calculate faster than you expect.