Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am completely and utterly frustrated after upgrading to vray 3.6

Hello everybody.

I work in the CGI sector since 2001 and started working with vray 1.5 many years ago.
    Vray 2.5 was basically perfect for me - I had ONE setting for everything and getting fast and clean renderings was easy as can be. I worked with the 1/100 subdivision setting and only controlled the noise threshold to determine the final quality of the image. And that was everything I had to do. Many years I worked like that in a very reliable way. I knew a noise TH of 0.01 was grainy but ok for some animations. 0.008 was a good setting for most animations, 0.005 was great for most images and a perfect clean image was at 0.003

Then I upgraded to vray 3.6 last december (!)

Since then, I have wasted dozens and dozens, probably hundreds of hours just trying to get CLEAN images in a reasonable amount of time.
    Bright pictures are not the problem.
    But a dark, almost black studio setup just won´t work. I even had to tell one of my customers I can´t reproduce his images any longer.

Now you need to help me or I lose my mind, my patience, my joy and probably my customers because I can´t meet my deadlines and can´t calculate my costs. It´s "trial and error" since december 2017.

I deeply regret having upgraded to 3.6, although some features are really great.
    I have tried the "fast settings". I tried progressive renderings (over nights, 10 hours on 5 rendernodes..... ) and can´t get rid of bright noise in very dark areas.
    I tried every combination of irradience maps, brute force, light caches, tried to go with my old 1/100 samples and a noise threashold of 0.1 to 0.005 (below that, I won´t even try with these render times.)

I CANNOT get a single clean picture in a dark studio setup.