Noisy spec pass/highlights

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noisy spec pass/highlights

I hope you can help me out in diagnosing these firefly-looking highlights I'm getting on DoF-renders.

I have prepared some screenshots so I hope they help you in understanding my problem.
    I'm also including the scene, as that seems to be the first thing you ask for when diagnosing.

First: the scene.
    It is a still frame from an animation course, that must include DoF by animating the camera target in a VRayCam. (The big ball is (almost) in focus, the bg is blurred)
    (Only 5 images pr. post, so you have to go here to see the scene, sorry: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GC3...ew?usp=sharing )

Rendered pretty fast just to show the DoF working, with the following settings:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	02_quick_render.jpg
Views:	371
Size:	374.3 KB
ID:	1114542

I am not a beginner so I know that DoF in V-Ray requires a lot of samples and I (think) know where to fix it.
    So with upped samples:
    Max subdivs @ 24 (I'm not allowed to post more than 5 images. Sigh.)

Beautiful Dof!
    But the highlights on the glass- and chromeball does look firefly-ish still.
    The materials are straight forward - you can peek in the attached file to see if I made any mistakes.
    The only thing I guess that can be troublesome is the glossiness for both relfec and refrac is 1.0 (for now!)
    With the amount of samling required to fix DoF in V-Ray, I upped it further:

Name:	04_even_higher_samples.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	318.5 KB
ID:	1114543

This still isn't pretty.
    I backed of the sampling a bit as I really wouldn't want to render the scene with max subdivs @ 100.
    I then introduced some glossiness to all the specularities as shown here - partly to make the job easier for the render and partly to get more realistic results.
    The reflection glossiness is also changed to 0.98 in the chrome material.