Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• speed tricks for 3d vegetation

Hi,

I am new to vray and I have used brazil in production so far. I have an exterior scene with quite a many 3d trees and bushes. Rendering is really fast and I happy with it but ray server takes quite a while to initialize cause of all these trees. Are there any speed tricks to accelerate the ray server calculation? All my leaves and needles are geometry. Do you guys usually render your 3d vegetation in seperate pass or maybe trunks with gi with the rest of the scene and leaves with different pass. I am using onyx tree and would like to know what's a good workflow to optimize the ray server calculation and render speed.

Thx in advance.

-Vermu

Try raising the Max tree depth to 100 (default 60) and lower the
    Face/level to 1.0 ( keep in mind it may eat more memory ).. Both parameters are in the V-Ray System rollout (top left)

Best regards,
    nikki Candelero
    .:: FREE Your MINDs, LIVE Your IDEAS ::.

Comment

Also if you have any opacity mapped leaves, make sure to turn the blur down to 0.01 on the opactiy map, this will help speed up render times AND make the leaves look better

Comment

Also turn off filtering of the opacity bitmap - speeds up render times.
        Dan Brew

Comment

If you have not specified any sub-objects under the leaf adjustment parameters, you can collapse to mesh and export to Vray mesh/proxy.

If you have specified sub-objects you cannot collapse to mesh or export to vray mesh proxy, in which case keep as tree storm object but use as many instances as possible. Just use rotation and scale to introduce variety.
          "Why can't I build a dirigible with my mind?"

Comment

vray proxies will not help u lower ur rendertimes...
            Nuno de Castro

www.ene-digital.com
            nuno@ene-digital.com
            00351 917593145

Comment

you can say that again!!

Comment