Coloured Perspex (or Glass)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coloured Perspex (or Glass)

I'm having a hell of a time today for some reason to make coloure glass. I have light pink, citric orange, etc. All bright pastel colours. No matter what I do, my sample in my material editor is just not looking like I want. Mostly comes out very dark, (almost black) or very dark red.

I've tried in the refraction slot, and also tried fog colour
    Kind Regards,
    Morne

post an example..

Im no expert but i have recently had to create Red Glass for glass chandelier made by Andromeda. I found it really tricky to actually light the inside of the glass like in real life.

I had two versions of the glass

one was - diffuse Black / refl - white 240 odd / refraction - white 252 / fresnel on / affect shadows on / reflection on inside / fog deep red with multiplier of 0.035

second - diffuse red / refl - same as above - refraction - light red / all the rest as above with no fog colour

I found the second option made the room too red,from the glass light..The fog version i didnt get enough red thru the glass onto the walls etc.

Would be interesting to see what other people use for coloured glass.

Comment

I'm using diffuse black, reflect white with IOR 1.6. Refract the colour and IOR of 1.1. But I just dont seem to be able to get bright pastel colours out of it. The colours comes out very dark. I don't want to stick the colour on the diffuse, as apparently things that has refraction takes ages to render with non black diffuse
      Kind Regards,
      Morne

Comment

what value is your fog multiplier on

Comment

fog is on 1 (with white fog)
          Now I've copied the refraction colour to the diffuse colour and starting to get better results. So far not seeing much of a change in render speed. Not there yet, but getting there
          Kind Regards,
          Morne

Comment