Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distributed Rendering - Dongle Issue

Hi guys,
    I'm new to the vray scene. And I'm setting up distributed rendering. I've got 2 full licenses on 2 dongles. Got several workstations that I can use. All workstations have the full installation.
    Started backburner for the first time. And started V-Ray DR spawner and V-Ray license server on the render servers. On the main pc is started 3dsmax + vray and the dongle.
    But when I start the rendering only the render server with the other dongle is recognized.
    I heard from other people for DR to work no license was needed. Is this correct? If so, what could be the problem. And what if I would use external render farms?
    Some help could be welkom

Thx
    Bart
    Bart VDS
    V-Ray 3.20.03 for 3dsMax

No, you always need license even when using DR. When you started your vray license server, after installing vray on DR machine you must point to where the license will be read from (your license workstation ip).
    Dmitry Vinnik
    Silhouette Images Inc.
    ShowReel:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxSJlvSwAhA
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/dmitry-v...-identity-name

Comment

Hi Bart,

As Dmitry already mentioned, each render node in DR mode requires a license. Depending on your number of Render node licenses, you have to point your slaves to both machines (with the dongles) where the license servers are running. We have a special tool for this "Change V-ray license settings".

If you still have problems with setting your licenses in DR, please contact us at support@chaosgroup.com and we will assist you further.
      Tashko Zashev | chaos.com
      Chaos Support Representative | contact us

Comment