Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Proper Spot lights?? Area spots? Attenuation? Collimation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper Spot lights?? Area spots? Attenuation? Collimation?

Hi,

I am new to V-Ray, so maybe I am missing something. But there does not seem to be a way to control Spot lights in V-Ray. There are a number of severe limitations compared to Arnold.

1. V-Ray does not appear to support 3ds Max Photometric Spot distribution for any light Shape type other than Point. I'm only able to get super hard shadows and lighting. Using a V-Ray Disc light is not an acceptable substitute, as there is no mechanism to control hotspot/falloff.

2. No Attenuation for any V-Ray lights. There are only two decay options: inverse square and none. Artists rely on computers to do things that can't be done in the real world.

3. No mechanism for simulating a collimated beam. Real-world spot lights are constructed with reflectors and lenses to focus light rays so that illumination travels farther. The decay rate is still inverse square, but the focusing hardware causes the decay to effectively begin at a virtual light position behind the actual source of illumination. Arnold has a Lens Radius parameter that simulates this phenomenon. Without the ability to simulate a collimated beam, it's impossible to get realistic renders of any light fixture that incorporates a lens or reflector. And since all spot lights have lenses and / or reflectors, V-Ray is completely unable to reproduce the optics of a spot light.

So we can't get soft lighting while also controlling hotspot/falloff. We also can't control the decay rate, either by increasing or decreasing effective decay. Without these features, the greater speed of V-Ray is useless to me. My only choice is to wait longer for an Arnold rendering that actually represents real-world lighting conditions, and/or gives me full control over non-physical decay rates.

Thanks,

Aaron