linear workflow and antialiasing/shadow sampling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linear workflow and antialiasing/shadow sampling

Didn't find a post talking about it, but I guess the search function doesn't work well
    I was wondering, if anyone has ever worked in linear space, if that doesn't annoy you that as antialiasing is performed in linear, when you apply a sRGB LUT to your image, it often reveals dirty artefacts on area shadows, and less noticeably on anti-aliased edges (gaps on thin edges, etc...)
    So, and that's because this post is in the 'wishlist', I was wondering if it wouldn't be great to add a function to perform adaptive anti-aliasing and other kind of samplings on gamma corrected values, to be able to still work in linear but avoiding all these artefacts...

As I'm not a professionnal about linear workflows, if you have any suggestions or explainations, I'm listening!
    thanks,

Paul.

You might find this helpful - http://www.aversis.be/tutorials/vray...l_gamma_03.htm

particularly the part on color mapping quality.

Comment

This is what the "Dont affect colors" checkbox in the color mapping is for. If you set gamma to 2.2 and check that box you will get a linear image that is sampled correctly.

Kind Regards,
      Thorsten

Comment

hmmm... I quite don't agree with you guys... if you set gamma to 2.2, you don't get a linear image, that seems quite obvious. you get an image that looks like linear but is actually encoded in sRGB...
        Just try to save it in vray buffer exr file, and load it in nuke, and you'll get a surprise! a 2.2 gamma corrected image with a 2.2 default LUT in nuke = an ultra bright image
        So you have to cheat and tell nuke it's in sRGB?? rather dirty I think...

Comment