Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with unusable noisy Environment Fog

Hello,

I'm new with rendering fog and have built a test scene.

It took me a day of testing and it's always slowly and noisy...
    I tried now every setting. (Subdivs, step size, Scatter GI, Rendersettings...)

Attached some screenshots.
    I created a cube and attached VrayEnvironment fog with VrayMaterial (opacity 0 and Fog as volume material to SG)

Lights:
    There are only 2 rectangular lights attached to the set ("override light shapes"), but it takes like 10 minutes to get a grainy result and it never gets fine.
    There are originally 9 Lights, I switched all others off to be sure they don't affect anything.

A texture still is not applied (because if the "base fog" doesn't work, it only would make it more complicated).

A final render in 1200 pixels would take 30 minutes and I stopped it, because it looks grainy, too.
    When I see tutorials or show reels it goes instantly. In my setup it needs liek 5 moinutes until even it starts to show a picture...

Thanks for help!

VrayNext, Maya2018.6, CPU (on good doubleCPU workstation. also tried GPU render with 2 gtx1080ti but it is is not faster)
    Last edited by BeneZ; 09-05-2019, 09:02 AM.

I found out, that "step size" makes a difference. Although small steps are finer, it did not go on anymore then because of that high distance value.
    When I increased to 2500 it worked much better.

Although I would like to understand, if it is recommended to change:
    - Subdivs?
    - Max steps?
    - Anything else?

- What means for fade out "multiply by density"? 300 x 5000 = 150.000 ? this would be 300 times larger than my set, but it does not seem so.
    Last edited by BeneZ; 09-05-2019, 10:09 AM.

Comment

https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/...ering+In-Depth there are some general tips on rendering volumes, try probabilistic rendering for example.