Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reference Workflow with Maya and duplicate material problem

Hello everyone,
    im a design student from germany and got some experience in automotive and productdesign visualisation. Because of my internship i swapped from 3dsmax to maya and tried to improve my workflow. I got a lot of question, hopefully someone can help me out and help me to improve my skills in maya and Vray.
    (Maya 2016 EXT 2 / Maya 2017 + Vray 3.4 latest)

0. general questions
    -working with .mb or .ma? and why?

1. Working with reference files

->Mainscene.mb
    ->Reference File #1 (two spheres with two seperat materials plastic#1 and metal#1)
    ->Reference File #2 (two cylinder with two seperat materials plastic#1 and metal#1)

- should i the shade the reference files?
    - or should i do the shading in the Mainscene and transfer those materials into the reference files?
    - IMPORTANT: if i shaded the reference files and then load them inside of my mainscene, how can i to avoid duplicated materials (materials with the same name and same parameters)? i tried to config the reference settings to merge duplicate shading networks but i found no solution for this
    - Proxy vs reference - or mix it up?

2. Working with passes

- how could i do object passes to have each object as a sperate mask
    - are there some tutorials out there to see how to create a beauty pass with seperate lights on passes (Deep Render Element Composing)

3. Some troubleshootings

- avoid problems with the surface matte(Wrapper + Basemtl and all the important checkboxes ticked) if a dome is used
    - using the new render setup is there a possibility to swap between cameras if i change the renderlayer?
    - Anything like Forest Pack for Maya out there?
    - how to see textures like soulburnscript for 3dsmax allows us (http://www.3dtotal.com/admin/new_cro..._tid_pic09.jpg)
    - is there a good way to create a shaderlibrary with previews