default render settings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• default render settings

Here are some changes that I think could be good to have as defaults in the render settings:

Vray common:
    don't save image: ON (default is OFF)
    saving the file to disc takes time, so enabling this speeds things up a lot
    animation: standard (default is disabled)
    render only in batch mode: ON (default is OFF)

Vray tab:
    render viewport subdivison: ON (default is OFF)

Settings tab:
    Max subdivs: 4 (default is 256)
    this also really speeds up things
    Last edited by sharktacos; 07-02-2016, 10:49 PM.

You can also save vray preset and just load that.
    Dmitry Vinnik
    Silhouette Images Inc.
    ShowReel:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxSJlvSwAhA
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/dmitry-v...-identity-name

Comment

Hi Dmitry. I work as an educator, so while I am aware of presets, and use them myself, I also work regularly with people who are new to Vray.

The above settings, I have found, are some things that always trip them up, and IMHO it would be nice for new users if the Render Settings just already were set in the best way by default (I'm sure the Chaos folks would agree )

Comment

Originally posted by sharktacos View Post
        Hi Dmitry. I work as an educator, so while I am aware of presets, and use them myself, I also work regularly with people who are new to Vray.

The above settings, I have found, are some things that always trip them up, and IMHO it would be nice for new users if the Render Settings just already were set in the best way by default (I'm sure the Chaos folks would agree )
        The problem is every one want some different "default settings".
        For example, me, i want the render viewport subdivison OFF by default.
        www.deex.info

Comment

yeah same here. I also don't really agree with gi being on by default.
          Dmitry Vinnik
          Silhouette Images Inc.
          ShowReel: