Diamond Shape other then round

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diamond Shape other then round

Hello everyone! This is my first forum post. I'm trying to render a diamond. It seems to me that I can render a round diamond with no problems. But whenever I try to render a diamond that isnt round I'm left with alot of black areas. I know for sure there is no intersecting geometry messing with the diamond. I've tried a lot of different light setups. I've tried messing around with the material options but to no avail. I've been modeling jewelry for many years but I'm still quite new to Vray next. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Files

Also I'm using Rhino 6

Comment

Hello,

The solution will depend on the reason why the dark areas appear.
      Are they a dark reflection from part of the environment or are the just areas that the material behind is more visible?
      I believe in this case this is most likely the silver material being more visible in those areas.
      If this is the case in material Wrapper there is an option to ignore objects behind the material Wrapper.
      Click image for larger version

Name:	IgnoreObjectsWrapper.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	116.4 KB
ID:	1072246
      You can set the diamond material as a base in Wrapper and enable Ignore Objects in Secondary option.

If the environment is bright it will make the diamond material to appear brighter as well.

Comment

Originally posted by slavcho.brusev View Post
        Hello,

The solution will depend on the reason why the dark areas appear.
        Are they a dark reflection from part of the environment or are the just areas that the material behind is more visible?
        I believe in this case this is most likely the silver material being more visible in those areas.
        If this is the case in material Wrapper there is an option to ignore objects behind the material Wrapper.
        Click image for larger version

Name:	IgnoreObjectsWrapper.jpg
Views:	364