Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Prevent/Hide Intersecting geometry from affecting refraction.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prevent/Hide Intersecting geometry from affecting refraction.

I'm a jewelry designer, and having issues rendering gemstones that intersect with metal geometry.

The current solution I use is to cut away the intersecting geometry and leaving a small gap between the refracting model and the container/metal.

Is there anything within the settings of vray other materials that I can use to can help me avoid dong this extra labor / preparation work?

Hi richard_aubin,

What you're currently doing is the best option. After all this is how things are in the real world.
    With that in mind, I should mention that in V-Ray there is something called Clipper.
    Using clippers you can basically perform render-time boolean operations.

What you need to do is duplicate the gemstone mesh and offset its surface so that it is a bit bigger than the original stone.
    This will avoid overlapping geometry issues.
    Click image for larger version  Name:	image.png Views:	8 Size:	289.9 KB ID:	1204175
    The material of this new geometry doesn't matter.

Convert the fatter peace into a Clipper by right-clicking on the V-Ray toolbar Clipper icon.
    Make sure that only the metal peace you want to perform the boolean on is included in the Clipper affects:
    Click image for larger version  Name:	image.png Views:	8 Size:	456.3 KB ID:	1204176

As a result the ring is cut at render time:
    Click image for larger version  Name:	image.png Views:	8 Size:	1.42 MB ID:	1204177

Here's the difference with the gem visible:
    Click image for larger version  Name:	image.png Views:	8 Size:	1.46 MB ID:	1204178

Note that geometry with a different shape can also be used for clipping.
    In simple scenarios like the one I tested with, this works great.