Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Render Settings and Crazy Long Render Times.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Render Settings and Crazy Long Render Times.

I had begun discussion on this in the gallery section of the forums, but I think it might be better suited here. I'm as new to Vray as they come and so far love it. I'm experiencing INCREDIBLY high render times (between 3 and 4 hours!)though and since I'm completely self taught I don't know much about the settings to use to achieve maximum results in minimal time. I've posted all of my settings here. Any comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Here is the scene I'm working on. It's just a product shot of the sink so the geometry and lighting is very simple. There are only two rectangular lights in a studio setting.

All the help I can get is GREATLY appreciated. I'm so new to Vray I really have no idea what most of these options mean let alone what they do. Many thanks in advance!

Re: Render Settings and Crazy Long Render Times.

DMC Sampler -> subdiv multiplier: this option multiplies all subdivs setting everwhere. Best set it 1 and never increase it, only decrease for fast previews could be ok, but I never touch it and use the noise threshold.

Also one reason for mysterious slow downs - doublicated object at the scene. Most this slow down is seen, if doublicated transparent objects share the same place at the scene.
    www.simulacrum.de - visualization for designer and architects

Comment

That worked great Micha, thank you! It dropped the time down to 1h 6m essentially cutting the time by approx. 66% and reducing the subdivs multiplier to 1 didn't sacrifice any quality either.! Over an hour is still a good amount of time as far as I can tell though so are there any other ideas? Also, I've double checked and there are no double objects anywhere so the duplicate transparency issue doesn't apply here.

Comment