Problem with DR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with DR

Hi my name is mirko and i am an IT administrator for an architecture company.

we recently aquired and "powerful" server which is suppose to be the renderslave.
    i installed vray dr spawner, set up an share folder and tried my luck, with mixed results.
    Sometimes the server jumps on the ship and helps to render the scene sometimes, well most of the times, it doesnt!
    The error message which is displayed 100% of the time, it fails, is that the scene could not be transfered.
    it doesnt make any difference if i chose to use a sharefolder or to send the scene to each node.

the filesize so far was between a few kb(empty default SK scene) and 40mb.

when i chose to use the share, it copies the scene content even though it fails in the end.
    does anybody have any idea where is the problem?

best regards

mirko

Problems with DR Spawner

Hi
    We too, are having major problems with DR Spawner.

We used to render on 9-10 (max) quadcore PCs using XP, SketchUp 7, Vray (version 01.05.30) and DR Spawner - it was great, we could create several still visuals in a day (when we needed to); our clients loved it.

We have recently upgraded to Windows 7, SketchUp 8 and Vray 1.49.01. Now we are having very mixed results with DR Spawner. Most of the time, network renders fail – it has destroyed our successfull workflow; it is costing us a lot of time and effort trying to resolve the problem (and, we are not sure we can).

We have kept one PC with the older version of Vray and can still network render using three older PCs (often starting with the same SketchUP model that fails on the new set-up).
    1. Do you know why the new version of Vray is so unreliable using DR Spawner - what can we try?
    2. Should we continue to spend hours trying to find a solution ourselves, or are you addressing the issue with an update soon?