Vray for Unreal to just Unreal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vray for Unreal to just Unreal

I'm just getting into using Unreal after having used 3ds max and Vray for quite some time.

I was wondering if using Vray for Unreal would allow a project to more easily be converted to Unreal than just trying to go straight from 3ds max.

Does Vray for Unreal have tools to convert materials and lights from its own format to those of Unreal so one could export/save an Unreal file that someone without Vray for Unreal could open and either render or continue working?

I've been trying to convert a project from 3ds max using Vray to unreal using Datasmith and its turning out to be a real chore.

Thanks.

V Miller

Hello V Miller,

Sorry for the late reply.

I was wondering if using Vray for Unreal would allow a project to more easily be converted to Unreal than just trying to go straight from 3ds max.
    Converting a project from Max to Unreal is relatively easy depending on the complexity of the scene. With the latest release (V-Ray for Unreal, update 3) we added a max script that optimizes your scene material and unwraps your geometry for light baking. You can get the script and documentation how to use it from here: VRayMaterialOptimizer. and you can check the vidoe for the latest release here: V-Ray for Unreal, update 3.

Does Vray for Unreal have tools to convert materials and lights from its own format to those of Unreal so one could export/save an Unreal file that someone without Vray for Unreal could open and either render or continue working?
    The V-Ray materials and lights in Unreal are native Unreal materials and Unreal blueprints. But in order for someone else to open the project will require him to have the plugin. That the limitation at the moment.

I've been trying to convert a project from 3ds max using Vray to unreal using Datasmith and its turning out to be a real chore.