This is a problem i’ve experienced for a while, but thought it might be fixed with 1.50.00, but it’s not for us. It’s so odd.
Distributed Rendering works perfectly, apart from the pretty major fact that the DR slaves render the previously submitted DR job.
(*) It happens from machine to machine throughout our network
(*) We have since had our entire domain rebuilt from scratch (new server, new routers, new domain name and rules etc)
(*) When submitting a job, all the DR slaves will start rendering the previously submitted scene
(*) time doesn’t matter - scenes can be rendered that were submitted days or weeks ago, once the machines have been restarted and shut down etc
(*) It’s like the saved file for all DR slaves to render from isn’t overwriting itself properly - it is stuck on the last scene
Has anyone else ever experienced this?
Is it a permissions thing?, as i’m lead to think something like this as it all works, but it appears to not overwrite the last scene…or something like this…
My profile is a domain administrator, so i shouldn’t have permissions issues i don’t think.
(*) It’s quite an easy fix for us - just click render, wait a few seconds for it all to connect and start rendering > cancel it > submit again.
1. Files over 30mb always encounter problems (this is likely more to do with network than with vray.)
2. The minute you add a camera of any kind you get the image above. If you remove it everything goes back to normal.
DR sent from a workstation works great in any situation so pretty much avoiding BB at all costs.
well i get wrong buckets like this, but it’s the strangest thing; and it happens as a DR job submitted through backburner as well.
What ever the previously submitted DR render is (whether it was submitted 5 seconds before or two weeks before after pc shutdowns and 3dsMax reboots) my workstation will render the correct buckets, but all other slaves will render the previously submitted DR job.
It’s as simple and as strange as that.
(of course i can just start a render, stop it, and submit again and all is fine, but it’s annoying)
So this happens to you from both BB AND your workstation? perhaps sp1 will take care of this. I’m just glad to have it working consistently from the workstation this time around…
I thought I was the only one getting it! Mine started the same and the only way I found to fix it was to save the file with a completely new name and resubmit it. I have to save the file without doing any more work and then render it. Most of the times it worked, but then DR stopped completely so I’m thinking of updating to 1.5 Final to see if it helps.
I’ve only used DR directly from the workstation and not via BB.
could you just confirm if this is considered a ‘bug’ and you guys will look into it, or if it’s just expected behaviour and we shouldn’t use incremental save…?
It depends on whether there is a way to get/set the state of the “Increment on save” option programmatically. I didn’t find a function for this in the SDK, so I have asked at the Autodesk Developer Network. If there is a way to disable this option before saving the file for DR and then enable it again, then the issue can be solved. If not, there is nothing that we can do.