Sampling and material Subdivs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sampling and material Subdivs

So, I've been working with vray for many years now and it's still a mystery. I had nothing to do at work a couple of weeks back and took time to study vray , trying to understand it better. I watched all 10 hours or so of the "V-ray For Architectural Visualization" DVD and got a bit confused.

My experience tells me that when using the Adaptive DMC sampler you need about 10-20 Max subdivs and at most 0.005 threshold to get good results. On the DVD, he explained about supersampling and that he used 6 Subdivs at the most for final renders.. As I said, I got a bit confused, so I began trying his theory. I've been working like this for our project at work, and a project I'm doing at home, and I just can't get good results with only 5-6 max Subdivs...

First I tried min 2 and max 5 subdivs for the DMC sampler. It works fine when sampling edges, but when sampling glossy reflections it's not nearly enough. I tried increasing All my material subdivs alot (30-40) and still didn't get good results. And by now the rendertimes was the same as with 8 subdivs per material and about 12-18 max DMC sample subdivs.

Finally I ended up with a mix of both theorys. Around 20 subdivs per material and max 12 subdivs for the image sampler. But I'm still confused.. I've read about it in the online manual, various articles and threads, and in the ultimate vray guide.

Can someone enlighten me? What do you guys use? Do you use max 8 subdivs per material and push the sampler to about 20 max subdivs, do you go higher on the mateial subdivs or is there another way to get smooth reflections and good AA with low DMC subdivs?

I hope you understand what I'm confused about
    http://www.cgpro.se - Portfolio